News: Eclipse Webinar, Women Astronauts and Pi Day!

eclipse banner smInterpreting the Eclipse webinar series!

NASA’s Earth to Sky partnership has invited us to join their ongoing webinar series about NASA resources for the 2017 Eclipse. Though meant for parks, there’s certain to be something for all educators who are starting to plan eclipse events. Find more details below.

To get more details, the link’s the following:
Date: Thursday, March 16th, 2017 (click for a calendar reminder)
Time: 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM Pacific / 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM Eastern

 

Women Astronauts

The Mercury 13 Women Astronauts

NASA’s Night Sky Network has also invited us to join their webinar in honor of Women’s History Month, presented by Amy Shira Teitel, of “Pluto in a Minute” fame. Targeting amateur astronomers, again, there’s certain to be something interesting for all educators who want to engage more girls in STEAM, and who want to share the stories of the great women of NASA history. Note this will also be archived for the future.

Links and more details:
Date: Wednesday, March 15th, 2017 (click for a calendar reminder)
Time: 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM Pacific / 9:00 PM – 10:00 PM Eastern

 

NASA Pi Day Challenge, Pi in the Sky 3 Animated Illustrations

Happy Pi Day!

Celebrate this fun day with your audiences by taking the NASA Pi Day Challenge! To help you plan, it will be released on March 10th. Also, see past challenges and use NASA graphics to incorporate it easily into your website, social media, or even on your museum floor.

Important links and information sources:

Date: Tuesday, March 14, 2017.

Source(s): Jeff Nee – Informal Education Specialist in the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

Web Page